The Yamas and Niyamas web header image.

| home | about us | author's site | contact us | ordering | products | resources | reviews | vendors | workshops |


What are the Yamas & Niyamas?

The Yamas & Niyamas are yoga's ten ethical guidelines and comprise the first two limbs of Yoga's eight-fold path. They are the foundation of skillful living.

The Yamas and Niyamas are like a detailed map, telling you where you are and how to look for the next landmark. The Yamas and Niyamas free you to take ownership of your life and direct it towards the fulfillment you seek. Gaining the the skills to choose attitude, thought and action may be the grandest adventure you can choose.

The Yamas & Niyamas book cover image.

The Yamas & Niyamas are the first two limbs of Yoga's eight fold path and are foundational to all yogic thought. But up until now it has been difficult to find detailed information about them. Finally there is a new book dedicated to these important concepts: The Yamas & Niyamas: Exploring Yoga's Ethical Practice by Deborah Adele, ERYT-500.

In this book each Yama and Niyama has been given its own chapter in which the philosophy of the guideline is woven with practical examples and stories. At the end of the chapter Deborah provides questions that challenge the reader to find deeper insight. This book is written to serve either as the student's textbook for a teacher-lead, in-depth study, or for the individual on a personal journey. This book is also perfect for yoga teachers in training.

Deborah has also written a Facilitator's Guide to help you develop your own class. To download this free PDF guide (221K) click here.

Interested in knowing more? Click here to read more about the book or visit our resources page to view Deborah's video lessons on the Yamas and Niyamas, to join us on Facebook or to follow on Twitter.

The Yamas include:

Ahimsa ~ Nonviolence
Satya ~ Truthfulness
Asteya ~ Nonstealing
Brahmacharya ~ Nonexcess
Aparigraha ~ Nonpossessiveness

And the Niyamas include:

Saucha ~ Purity
Santosha ~ Contentment
Tapas ~ Self-discipline
Svadhyaya ~ Self-study
Ishvara Pranidhana ~ Surrender

The Yamas & Niyamas
is now available on:

Kindle, Nook and

| home | about us | author's site | contact us | ordering | products | resources | reviews | vendors | workshops |